top of page
  • Writer's pictureSonam

Marigold

Book name:Marigold

Author: Manali Debroy

Rating:4.2/5



MY TAKE:

Honestly, I didn't expect much from this book, because I am not a short story person. But we get the best of things when we are least expecting them. Isn't it? I am so glad that I read Marigold, because if I wouldn't have done that, I would have definitely regretted it. The stories are so mesmerizing and soothing, for some reason I felt the calmness within.

_____

So, let's just start by saying how thoughtful the cover of this book is; in my view, I think the cover represents the golden memories! The book is a collection of 18 short stories which are about love, hope, relationships, ambitions, family and a lot more, it even covers a few social issues. I just got lost when I started reading this book, because each story has something different to offer, and I think this was the mere reason why I got into it. This book has so much to offer, you just need to be open to receive it.



The book is really fulfilling and satisfying, the kind of satisfaction you get by eating your favourite food! No closed endings, no tragedies as such... pure and solely love.

What I learnt from this book is that we should be thankful for every moment of our lives, good or bad, because it's always a learning experience. What a brilliant piece of art this is... I think everybody should read it!


ABOUT BOOK:

Marilyn Monroe once said, "I'm selfish, impatient, and a little insecure. I make mistakes. I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can't handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don't deserve me at my best," and I couldn't agree more. Life is like a paradox of love and pain that may never leave each other, but in the end, the coexistence is worth the journey. Striving for the best is human nature, but are you really prepared for the roller-coaster rides or do you give up?



AUTHOR SPEAKS:

"Hi, this is Manali here. It's always good to have a candid talk, especially during these trying times. So, I am here connecting with you all to briefly talk about myself, my book which is, by the way, celebrating bookversary this year and what I am doing currently in these quarantine times.

Well, I do not want to introduce myself as a boring Banker, but rather as an artist who draws a connection between science, philosophy, art and literature, showcasing the same in my work. I am a planning oriented person in general, but more so towards my work and career. I am an artist - writing, reading, dancing, singing, even acting in dramas (performing arts) - I have done and love all. I love science and defying or understanding a theory, numerically and sometimes even philosophically. But above all, I am a dreamer and I intend to live my dreams.

In the time apart from my job, I read a book, sketch or write for my next book/articles for online media house and connect with readers & other fellow writers on social media. This is the same I am doing now as well as most of us are quarantined at home. I am getting more time to read and connect with everyone on social media. I love travelling. Visiting new places and meeting people inspires me a lot to carve my characters, premise and the plot as well. I miss travelling. Something you can always count on me that 'I can't accomplish' probably is being a good cook :D I can just quench your appetite but I am a poor cook when I really need to satiate that yearning of good food. So, during quarantine days I am trying to be better if not master this art (haha!)"

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to Be The Best Version of Yourself

BOOK: Be The Best Version of Yourself AUTHOR: Srinivart RATING: 4.9/5 MY TAKE: Must read for those who are seeking spiritual answers.This book is a hard pill to swallow as it challenges common beliefs

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page