top of page
  • Writer's pictureSonam

In Talk with the author of Earth Medicine: A Field Guide

Sonam: Hello Merrill. I'm glad I got this opportunity to interview you. l'll start with a simple questions, When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?


Merrill: When I lose my sense of time and place as I am writing, i remember that it is what I want "to be".



Sonam:How long does it take you to write a book?


Merrill: Almost a year.




Sonam: I've heard this from a lot of author, they get stuck while writing. Have you ever gotten reader’s block?


Merrill: Yes- it's absolutely essential to make writing part of a holistic lifestyle where your creative output is balanced by physical activity, nourishment, fun, friendship and some practice in self-awareness or personal growth

If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be.



Sonam: How did publishing your first book change your process of writing?


Merrill: Got me organized!! I tend to work from the creative side, back to front. Next time i'll be sure I have my outlines in place and follow them. For me it's a discipline of balancing the feminine receptivity to word and ideas with the masculine attributes of structure, container and focus.






Sonam: since writing and publishing a book is so expensive nowadays, what was the best money you ever spent as a writer?


Merrill: Investing in the time and in myself to see my book through from start to finish. Allowing the process which incurs so many expenses, but ultimately are an investment in one's self.



Sonam: Did you ever consider writing under a pseudonym?


Merril: hmmmm. not yet!





Sonam: Well that's great to hear. How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have?


Merrill: Zero!



Sonam: Really?! I didn't expect that. Well, tell us about your book.


Merrill: This book tells my story of heartbreak and triumph through the lens of a mother and a healer. It seeks to connect intimately with the reader by speaking from this familiar place of family and "real" life, but then to inspire greater insight into being "human" and finding our way. My hope is that by showing both vulnerability and strength and empower others to do the same. My hope is also to show readers just how to use alternative and indigenous medicine in their lives to restore health on multiple levels, mind, body spirit, as well as planetary.



Sonam: Since success is subjective. What does literary success look like to you?


Merrill: A following who really connect with my work, feel inspired and guided by it, and show up to "get" more.



Sonam: I think failures are a part of a successful journey. What were the failures you faced on this journey?


Merrill: I have 30 edits on my final copy, which is about draft 6, if that says anything. Let myself learn through the process, how i need to organize- if you can call that failure. i would call it coming in through the back side, which allowed my voice and creativity to be in tact when I wrote.




Sonam: And lastly, do you wanna say something to your audience?


Merrill: Follow what inspires you. That is the ignition point, but then seek the education and community you need to bring your passion to life in a structured, organized and eventually "successful" way - success here means that you wont have to abandon your passion for 'work' later.

"you must remember that a teaching that is true is always true, in any culture, with any language attached" -- Book of Mastery.



Sonam: Thank you Merrill. It was a really great experience interviewing you. I think I learnt a lot just talking to you for the interview. As I have read your book I know how great it is and I can really feel big things happening in context to the book. I wish you all the luck for your book and hope to interview again for your next book.


Merrill: Well, likewise Sonam. Thank you for having me.






You can reach Merrill:


@omerrillpage

75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page