top of page
  • Writer's pictureSonam

Crime Beat Girl

Book name: Crime Beat Girl Author: Geri Dreiling

Rating:4.7/5 MY TAKE: When Debbie started writing about the murder she witnessed and when her work started to attract a lot of eyeballs, her work gathered some Enemies too. Debbie Bradley is working for River City magazine as a reporter and while working she was on her way to work she witnessed a crime! ----- Every chapter of this book felt as if I was dropped down in the middle of a mystery scene, I could hear, feel and even see everything that was happening around and that's because every scene was drawn perfectly, specially the Crime Scene, everything in there is super detailed. ------ One fun thing about this book is that there were a lot of clues for the readers to be the detective themselves and solve the mystery- It is kind of fun. This story is something that would compel you to read further- it's something that would want you to go back and experience it all again. The book is undeniably be one of my most favourite crime fiction as yet, tho the story went a little off Midway but it was all worth it. A crazy green light from my side!



ABOUT THE BOOK:


A series of deadly shootings. An outbreak of stolen cars. When journalist Debbie Bradley returns home to St. Louis, the summer crime wave has started. And she's in the center: A witness, a reporter, a target.

Debbie's reasons for leaving behind her promising career in Washington D.C. were complicated. Her mother, a prominent lawyer, was diagnosed with cancer. Her engagement was cooling. When she got offered a job in St. Louis that she hadn't been looking for, Debbie recognized an opportunity. Or an escape.

But she didn't expect to come home and see a girl die. Debbie never planned to investigate a boy behind bars. And she didn't anticipate colliding with hostile cops and wary politicians.As her work gains attention, Debbie gathers enemies. Will her assignment to cover the St. Louis crime beat be her last?


AUTHOR SPEAKS: "Hey everyone, this is Geri Dreiling. I’m the author of the mystery thriller, “Crime Beat Girl.” The story is about a plucky investigative reporter who witnesses a crime and then becomes a target. “Crime Beat Girl” draws its inspiration from my background as a writer for an alt-weekly in St. Louis, my work as a lawyer, and my job as the public information officer for a prosecutor’s office. The character of Debbie Bradley was conceived in my head over twenty years ago when I was trying to get ready to try a case. Yet all I really wanted to do was sit in my office and write books. Alas, I had to go live a little bit more (OK, maybe a lot more) before Debbie was ready to make her debut. I’m the mother of two twenty-somethings that I’m super proud of. And in my spare time, I grow the heck out of my little urban garden and tend to my three chickens. I walk six miles most every Sunday with my awesome husband. And in our downtime, we love to watch Academy Award-nominated movies and series that we’ve missed. Right now, we’re on “Better Call Saul.” And we’re waiting for the next season of “Rick and Morty.” Thanks so much for considering my novel. Wishing you all good health! "

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page