top of page
  • Writer's pictureSonam

OUR IMPERFECT STORY

Book name: OUR IMPERFECT STORY

Author: Ryan Fernandes

Rating: 3.3/5


MY TAKE:

This is not a love story! it's a friendship tale. It's a journey of 4 friends through the snags that life was throwing on them, this is about how they stuck by one another no matter how hard the battle again life got, they always fought together like true soulmates....maybe this is a love story after all!

'Our Imperfect story' highlighted some major issues with human nature, like for instance, we often blame others for our misfortune to get rid of the guilt, the failure. At that moment, we just think about ourselves, our suffering. We blame others for our failed relationships oblivious of how deeply we are hurting the people who stood by us.

The cover and the title are something I have mixed feelings about. Every chapter is been named very beautifully considering the content within.full marks for that! The plot was quite predictable to me, it's nothing out of the box! But that been said, I won't snatch away its beauty by stressing over it too much. It's beautiful because I could resonate with the story and the characters, like every group of friends has a nerd, an Angry Bird, an unexpressive dumb kid and one super hyped dude. This is exactly how the characters are delineated by the author.

This book never stop surprising me till the end. The suicide scene is something that I really liked because it was sudden and I was taken aback. Also, I was super surprised and impressed by Joseph when he turned from a guy who prided himself over never breaking rules by doing something illegal to secure his friend's career risking his own. The author balanced every serious situation with some humour to neutralize the whole vibe and I feel it was really thoughtful of him.

It's a heartwarming tale, a very light and easy breezy read. However, I felt there is definitely some scope for improvement, maybe some details and slower pace could have made it a better read. It's something I think would be loved by people who are just starting off with reading.


CHARACTER SKETCH: SIDDHARTH Siddharth since his childhood prefer being the Clown of the class and make people laugh, that was his escape. He is someone who has no filters, he speaks whatever comes in his mind with absolute no courtesy! Sid has a secret that he's hiding from his friends which tend to make him feel alone at times. But despite of being all of that, he's the most stable minded person in the entire group when it comes to handling difficult situation.

ROHAN Rohan is just another average Indian guy with low self confidence, someone who's always confused and for whom talking to a girls seems laborious. He's someone who finds expressing his love and care to his loved one's extremely onerous. He seems to be someone who has major trust issues due to some parts experiences.

AKASH Akash is extremely out of sorts, he's someone who loses his calm very easily. Akash and Rohan have been BFF since school, he can cross a river of Lava for Rohan and has always been there for him through thick and thin. Other than Rohan cricket was the second thing he could do anything for and he is extremely good at it as well!

JOSEPH Joseph seems a total nerd to me! A nerd who's good at heart, also a good friend, someone who's scared of taking risk and most importantly who is is obsessed with checked shirts-such a sweetheart! Don't get me wrong, not that being a nerd is not impressive, well it's not but I think nerds are the sweetest and the most tender hearted people and also someone you should be friends with!


AUTHOR SPEAKS: "Hi everyone. I am Ryan Fernandes, a surgeon by profession and an author by passion. OUR IMPERFECT STORY is my debut novel. I wrote this book to fulfil two desires of mine. First was to begin my journey as an author and second was to give a different perspective to the challenges life throws at us, perceived through the eyes of 4 boys in the story. This book has taken a long time to see the light of day and I'm delighted to be finally share it with you all. I am a cricket buff and follow the game religiously. Breaking Bad and The Game of thrones are my all time favourite shows. Khalid Hosseini is my favourite author, though I love a whole lot of books by other authors as well. Books enthral me, snakes terrify me, sweets devour me and music soothes me. I spent my lockdown with my kids, shooting videos on an app that is banned now and hogging innumerable desserts prepared by my wife. I am currently penning my third novel."

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page