top of page
  • Writer's pictureSonam

The Children of the Calder Sea

Book name: The Children of the Calder Sea

Author: Fiona Torsch

Rating:4.9/5


MY TAKE:


- I will start the appreciating the cover of the book, I love the color contrasting, the cover is appealing to my eyes. "Great things come in small packages" ever heard this phrase? yes, this is definitely the case with Fiona- introducing her in the overture. "The Children of the Calder Sea" being her debut book I was surprised! The reader in me was struck with the impression of a protagonist more Wiser And mature than her age. The book is about Isla and Hamish and how they Evacuated to the remote island of Arraway, Isla finds herself taking up a new life. A life where folklore and fairy tales take on an entirely new meaning. Exploring her new home, Isla uncovers long-buried secrets and a surprising heritage.

I am glad that she was kind enough to send me a copy. I am definitely not to my "to follow author" list.



WHY YOU SHOULD READ THIS BOOK:


- The execution of the plot and storyline is amazingly done.

-Well developed characters and a well-paced plot are what you will get when you'll be buying this book.

-Emotions have been portrayed fabulously. I got a nail-biting experience while reason this piece of work.

-I think this book is gonna be loved by teenagers.


AUTHOR SPEAKS:


"Hi, I'm Fiona and I wrote "The Children of the Calder Sea". This is a story about two siblings who are evacuated away from pending war to an unfamiliar land. It's a story about adventure, about magic and folklore, about resilience, and about the strength of family. I truly hope it will inspire children's imaginations, and just be an enjoyable read for parents and children alike! So, why did I write this book? Well, I've always been fascinated by mythology and folklore. I have also always had an interest in history and in some of the lesser-known and lesser-told aspects of World War II. Scotland had more than a small part to play in this time, and that's where this story starts. Having lived a stone's throw from the Scottish borders for much of my life, the rugged beauty of the wilds of Scotland seemed like a natural place to begin to combine the two together!"


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page